Working with folders and diagrams

Folders allow you to organize and structure your workspace, even if you have a large number of diagrams.

Diagrams placed in Shared documents can be viewed and edited by all users of a workspace. Workspace administrators can enable the My documents folder which is private. Other users can't view or edit them. Read more about how to work with these folders in this section.

Notes on working with multiple users and workspaces can be found in the Manage users and access rights section.

The folder structure

The main workspace folder is Shared documents The My documents folder can additionally be enabled by a workspace admin.

Within these folders, you can create subfolders to organize your diagrams.

Select a folder in the folder structure to see its content

Clicking the arrow next to the folder/s name or on folder/s name itself will collapse or extend the folder. This way, you can quickly switch between folders and still keep track, even if you have an extensive folder structure.

Expand or collapse a folder by clicking the arrow in front of its name

If the name of a folder is cut off due to the width of the folder column, the full name will appear when hovering over it with your mouse. You can also extend the folder column by dragging its border line to the right:

Extend the folder structure column

The 'Shared documents' and 'My documents' folders

With the 12.8.0 release workspace administrators can choose to disable the My documents folder for every user in the workspace. This prevents documents from being inaccessible. It also fosters collaboration by restricting drafts to Shared documents . For new tenants the folder My documents is disabled by default but can be enabled by an administrator under Setup > Edit general configuration .

Each registered user has a main folder: Shared documents . Aditionally, administrators can enable the folder My documents .

You can move diagrams from one folder to another .

My documents

Workspace administrators can enable the My documents folder for all users under Setup > Edit general configuration . Diagrams in this folder and its subfolders are private. Other users can't view or edit them.

Shared documents

This folder contains diagrams you can work on alone and together with other modelers.

There are two ways to collaborate with colleagues: joint modeling within your workspace, and inviting colleagues to comment on diagrams.

  • Only colleagues who are registered in your workspace are able to actually edit diagrams. Find out more about defining access rights to diagrams and the Dictionary at Manage access rights.
  • Each person invited to comment on a diagram is able to do so - also those who have no SAP Signavio Process Manager account. In the section Inviting stakeholders to comment on a diagram, you will learn how to invite process stakeholders to comment on a diagram.

Creating a new folder

To create a new folder, proceed as follows:

  1. If you want to create a subfolder, first navigate to the folder in which you want to locate the new folder.
  2. In the menu bar, click New > Folder . A dialog pops up, in which you can enter the folder name.
  3. Specify the folder name and then click OK . The new folder is now visible in the folder structure.

Renaming a folder or diagram

  1. In the Explorer select the folder or diagram you want to rename.
  2. In the main menu click Edit > Change name/description
  3. Change the name. In multi-language workspaces translate the changed name to all available languages.
  4. Click Rename to save your changes.

Moving folders and diagrams

  1. Select the folder or diagram you want to move to a different location.
  2. In the menu bar, click Edit > Move . The corresponding dialog box opens.
  3. Now select the new folder.
  4. Click Move to complete the moving operation. The view of the folder will then be updated.
  5. Finally, click Move . The folder or diagram is moved to the selected location.

Copying diagrams

You can only copy diagrams and groups of diagrams, not entire folders.

  1. Select the diagram you want to copy. To copy several diagrams at once, hold the Ctrl key while selecting them. Or, draw a selection frame around the diagrams.
  2. In the menu bar, click Edit and then Copy . The Copy dialog opens.
  3. Select which folder you'd like to place the copy in.

  4. Optionally, you can select one of the following options by activating the corresponding checkbox:
    • Copy linked models, too Please note that BPMN call activities are not copied.
    • Copy all revisions of the diagram .

For system performance reasons, only one option can be selected.

  1. Click Copy . The copied file is then located in the selected target folder.

Removing folders or diagrams

  1. Select the folder or diagram to be removed in the main area of the Explorer. To select multiple folders, keep Ctrl pressed while selecting, or draw a selection frame around them.
  2. In the menu bar, click Edit > Delete . A confirmation dialog appears.
  3. Click Yes to delete the selected object.

    The selected objects are moved only in Trash, from which you can restore objects if necessary. Objects will be permanently deleted after you empty Trash.

  4. To delete objects permanently, select the Trash folder in the folder navigation. All objects in Trash are displayed.
  5. Select the objects you want to delete permanently.
  6. In the menu bar, click Remove . A confirmation dialog appears.

  7. Confirm by clicking Yes . The selected items are permanently deleted.

Restoring diagrams and folders

Diagrams and folders that have been deleted are moved to Trash folder. If you do not explicitly remove them from there, they can be restored.

To restore a diagram or folder from the Trash folder, proceed as follows:

  1. Go to the Trash folder. It can be found in the folder tree on the left.
  2. Select the files you want to restore.
  3. Click Restore in the menu bar.