Manage access rights

You need an administrator account to use this function.

This section describes how to define access rights to folders, diagrams, the dictionary, and dictionary categories. For information how to activate specific feature sets, see section Activate feature sets.

You can assign access rights for users and user groups.

Access rights are additive. Once users have access by being in a user group with access, the access rights cannot be taken away by adding the users to an additional group with less access or by setting user-specific access rights.

Folder structure

If users are not members of any group initially, they are able to read, write, delete or publish in all folders and models in the Shared documents folder.

If you grant users access to a diagram and they don't have access to the folder containing the diagram, they can only view the diagram and the diagram path. They don't have access to any other diagrams in this folder. To restrict access rights based on organizational roles, we recommend setting up a folder structure that reflects the different access rights variations.

User groups

  • We recommend to create user groups with access rights that match your organizational requirements. See section Manage users and groups.
  • Set access rights for folders and diagrams

    If you give users access rights to a folder, they also have access to all subfolders and diagrams in that folder.

    To define access rights, follow these steps:

    1. In the explorer, go to Setup > Manage users & access rights. The user management dialog opens.

    2. Open the Access rights tab. The tree structure shows all content of the Shared documents folder.

    3. Select the element for which you want to define access rights.

    4. From the drop-down lists, select the users or user groups and the access right types. You find detailed descriptions of the access rights below.

    5. Click Add. The added users and their access rights are added to the list.

    Limit access to specific folder content

    Journey models and uploaded files always inherit the access rights of the folder in which they are stored. This means you can't limit access rights to specific journey models or uploaded files in a folder.

    When you grant access to a folder, users have access to the complete folder. You can limit the access to specific folder content.

    If you grant users access to a diagram and they don't have access to the folder containing the diagram, they can only view the diagram and the diagram path. They don't have access to any other diagrams in this folder.

    Follow these steps:

    1. Select users or user groups that have access rights.

    2. Click limit.

    3. Select the content to which users should keep access.

    4. Save with Confirm.

    You can't limit access rights for folders that have inherited their access rights from a parent folder directly. You need to limit access from the parent folder instead.

    Available access rights for diagrams and folders

    Access right Details
    Hub (H) View published content in SAP Signavio Process Collaboration Hub
    Read (R) View unpublished content in the simulation tool, the revision comparison tool, the commenting view, and in SAP Signavio Process Collaboration Hub
    Write (W) Edit and save content in the editor
    Delete (D)

    Delete and move content

    To delete and move content between folders, users need write access for both folders and delete access for the folder from which the content is removed.

    Publish (P) Publish diagrams in SAP Signavio Process Collaboration Hub

    The commenting feature in SAP Signavio Process Collaboration Hub is a read access, since users who have been invited with the function Invite anyone for feedback can add comments to a diagram, but aren't able to edit it.

    Set access rights for the dictionary

    By default, users can access the complete dictionary. You can limit access to specific dictionary categories and subcategories.

    To define access rights for the complete dictionary, follow these steps:

    1. In the explorer, go to Setup > Manage users & access rights. The user management dialog opens.

    2. Open the Access rights tab.

    3. Select the dictionary folder.

    4. From the drop-down lists, select the users or user groups and the access rights. You find detailed descriptions of the access rights below.

    5. Click Add. The access rights you set are listed.

    To limit access rights for the dictionary to specific categories, follow these steps:

    1. In the Access rights tab, select the folder Dictionary.

    2. Select users or user groups that have access rights set.

    3. Click limit.

    4. Select the dictionary categories to which users should keep access.

    5. Confirm in the dialog.

    When you remove access to a dictionary category, entries from this category are no longer listed for the users, are not included in their search results, and can't be used by them when creating diagrams.

    Users can always view dictionary entries in the diagrams where they are used, even without having access to the dictionary category.

    When users have limited access to the dictionary, they are no longer listed when you select the dictionary folder.

    Access rights for the dictionary

    Access rights can be set for the complete dictionary or dictionary categories.

    Access right Function
    View (V) View dictionary entries in the editor and in SAP Signavio Process Collaboration Hub. In the editor, the dictionary entries can be used during modeling.
    Write (W) Edit and save dictionary entries.
    Delete (D)

    Delete and move content

    To delete and move dictionary entries between categories, users need write access for both categories and delete access for the category from which the entry is removed.

    Publish (P) Publish dictionary entries in SAP Signavio Process Collaboration Hub.

    The access rights for dictionary categories only affect dictionary entries in these categories.

    Change access rights

    To edit access rights, you use the process for adding access rights.

    To remove limitations to specific content, you need to grant full access to a folder or the dictionary first.

    Remove access rights

    To remove access rights, follow these steps:

    1. In the explorer, go to Setup > Manage users & access rights. The user management dialog opens.

    2. Open the Access rights tab. The tree structure shows all content of the Shared documents folder and of the dictionary.

    3. Select the element for which you want to remove access rights. Users and their access rights are listed.

    4. Click Remove. If the Remove button isn't visible, click the parent folder in the Inherited from column, and remove the access right there.

    5. Confirm with Yes.

    Next steps

    Manage users and groups