Versions

When you use the process editor to edit your process model, Workflow Accelerator saves all of your changes immediately. You can go back and edit the process again later, and it will not have changed. However, to execute a process by starting a new case you need a published version.

Publishing a process version

The process editor’s Versions tab shows a list of published versions. Until you publish a version of a process, the following message is displayed:

The process editor’s "Versions" tab with no published versions
The process editor’s Versions tab with no published versions

You can only start a new case for a process that has a published version, hence the button displays Publish to run this process. After you publish the first version, the list shows version #1 and you can start a new case using that version.

The Versions list after publishing the first version
The Versions list after publishing the first version

Version #1 always has the description Initial version. For later versions, you can add your own description.

Adding version comments

After the first published version, you can add a comment to describe the changes when you publish a new version of a process.

You can omit the version comment, but it helps collaboration between team members by making process modeling more transparent.

Published versions with descriptive version comments
Published versions with descriptive version comments

In this example, each version has a short comment that describes the changes.

Writing good version comments

When you write version comments, use the following tips to make them more consistent and useful.

  • Make the comment an imperative phrase that starts with a word like "Add" or "Fix".
  • Capitalize the first word and don’t include a full-stop at the end, for consistency.
  • Describe specifics, instead of vaguely referring to "changes".
  • Keep it short; 3-10 words usually suffice.
  • Consider making the comment longer to explain why you made this change.

You may find it easier to publish a series of small changes, creating a number of intermediate versions instead of one big change. Fine-grained versions make the version history more useful.

Re-publishing a process version

If you change a workflow to handle a temporary situation, such as an understaffed team, you may wish to go back to the original workflow when you have resolved the situation. Use the Re-publish option to change which process version new cases use.

  1. On the Versions page, select the re-publish/restore button next to the name of the original version you want to use again.
  2. On the Re-Publish or Restore dialog, select Re-Publish.

Workflow Accelerator will now publish a new copy of the selected version. New cases will now use this new published version. Re-publishing a process version does not affect unpublished changes you are working on.

Restoring a process version

While improving a workflow and publishing a series of process versions, you may want to look at an earlier version. You can use the Restore option to abandon your unpublished changes, and instead continue editing a previous process version.

  1. On the Versions page, select the re-publish/restore button next to the name of the version you want to edit.
  2. On the Re-Publish or Restore dialog, select Restore.

Workflow Accelerator will now replace your unpublished changes with the selected version. Restoring a process version does not change the published version that Workflow Accelerator uses to start new cases.